Obtaining A Permit
Indiana Application for Concealed Firearm Permit:
The online application process is administered by the Indiana State Police Firearms Licensing Section. Upon opening the application page, you will need to select the county in which you reside. If you are an out-of-state resident that is eligible for an Indiana permit because you have a regular place of business or employment in Indiana, then you select the county in which the regular place of business or employment is located. If your county is not listed, you are not currently eligible to apply using the online application process and you should begin the application process by visiting your local law enforcement agency. Please submit only one online application during a 60 day period. If you’ve not completed all of the necessary steps for submission within 60 days, your application will become invalid. If you are unsure that your application was submitted properly, call the local law enforcement agency covering the jurisdiction in which you reside to see if the application appears in the queue. If you realize that you made an error on your application, it may be edited by your local law enforcement agency. Upon completion of your application, you will receive a confirmation page with an application number. Print this page for your records and take the copy with you to your local agency when you go to pay your local fee. All applicants are required to visit their local law enforcement agency to pay a local licensing fee. If you print a copy of the online application it will not be accepted in its paper form and it is not considered legal proof of application. The online application must be submitted electronically. A legally accepted copy can be obtained from your local law enforcement agency. If you would like to receive your license more expediently and you are able to pay for your state fee using a credit card, you should use the L1 option offered at the end of the application process. L1 does charge a $9.95 fee for use of their fingerprint service.
Electronic Application Procedure:
Open the application website: http://aries.in.gov/Firearms/Permit.aspx .
Select the county in which you reside.
Verify that the county in the upper right hand corner of the application is the county in which you reside.
Answer all questions that apply.
Your full legal name must be provided on the application. Example: “Chuck” is not appropriate if your name is “Charles”. Failure to disclose your legal name will result in the denial of your application for false statement. If your legal name is composed of initials, it would be helpful for you to present verification such as a birth certificate or court papers documenting name change to the local authority and the Indiana state police. The alias blank is for prior legal names, maiden names, and informal names used such as “Jack.”
If you answer “yes” to the question, “Have you ever been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony violation, including DUI?” then you must list all charges for which you have been convicted. Failure to do so will result in the denial of your application for false statement. It is a felony to intentionally provide false information. If you are unsure of your record, you will want to discuss it when you visit your local law enforcement agency. You can also review your personal criminal history that has been submitted to the Indiana State Police by scheduling a request to review/challenge your Indiana criminal history through the Inkless system that can be accessed on the Indiana State Police website (www.in.gov/inkless). You may also have to contact local and out of state jurisdictions where you were arrested for information.
If you have problems seeing the continue button after acknowledging the perjury statement, try lowering you screen resolution on your display in the control panel of your computer. You should also temporarily enable pop ups.
Review the information on the application before submission. You are responsible for the information on your application—no exceptions.
If you do not know a previous firearms license number, put “UNK” and estimate the year if not known.
If you answer “Yes” to the question, “Have you ever been treated for psychiatric health care or an emotional or mental illness?” then you must submit documentation from the care provider. See the FAQ page for more information on this topic.
To apply for a lifetime permit with the reduced fee, you must hold a valid permit of the same type (i.e. personal protection or hunting and target) at the time of application. If you do not hold a current permit, you must pay the un-reduced fee. Retired law enforcement officers must present further verification to receive the fee exempt permit (see FAQ’s for more information). To qualify for the fee exempt dealer’s license, you must be a licensed Indiana firearms dealer.
At the end of the application process, print your confirmation page and present it when you visit your local police department covering the jurisdiction in which you reside. A local fee will have to be paid to that agency.
Additionally, you will be presented with a choice to schedule an appointment at an L1 Identity Solutions (INKLESS) site for fingerprints or complete the fingerprints at your local law enforcement agency when you visit them to complete the application process and pay the local fee. Some agencies may require that you complete the application online and use L1 (most Lake county agencies). The L1 Identity Solution charges a fee of $9.95 to process your fingerprints and the state fee payment. The advantage to selecting L1 is that your application begins to be processed by the Firearms Licensing Section more quickly than a non-L1 application. The state fee can also be paid online and with a credit card in the L1 process.
If you scheduled an appointment with L1 Identity Solutions, you will provide your fingerprints and state fee through that service. After completing the L1 process, you will need to go to the local law enforcement agency covering the jurisdiction in which you reside. You should take all of your receipts. You will complete the application process and pay the local fee at the visit.
If you did not schedule an appointment with L1 Identity Solutions, your next step is to go to the local law enforcement agency covering the jurisdiction in which you reside. You will provide fingerprints, a money order or certified check made payable to the State of Indiana for the state fee, and a separate local fee payment. Note: The department does not require postal money orders and information on cashed postal money orders is not readily available without a fee. Several other money order companies provide the information via a toll free number.
While visiting your local law enforcement agency, please review your application carefully to make sure it is correct. The applicant is responsible for the information and answers provided on the application, whether the application was actually typed by the applicant or someone else. An improper answer can delay or result in the denial of your application. Your application can be edited by the local jurisdiction for you.
The Utah CCW permit training class takes up to 4 hours. Live firing of a weapon is not required to obtain the Non-Resident Utah concealed weapons permit. We offer the Utah concealed carry training classes at various locations.
A Group of six or more can have this course brought to you at your location at your convenience.
We take care of fingerprints and your passport photo, saving you time and money. Please bring a photo copy of your drivers license, Indiana CCW permit. We mail in your application for you.
THAT’S “ONE STOP SHOPPING” FOR YOUR UTAH CCW PERMITS.
See our CCW Training & NRA Class Calendar page for class dates and registration.
“What good does it do for an Indiana resident to receive Utah concealed carry permit training?
With Utah concealed carry permit training and Utah CCW permits, you can legally carry a concealed firearm in 35 states. That’s 67 percent of the USA - including Ohio.